Wednesday, September 11, 2013

The Pitcher Book Blast: Giveaway for a $50 Amazon Gift Card or PayPal Cash

The Pitcher
“I never knew I had an arm until this guy called out, ‘Hey, you want to try and get a ball in the hole, sonny?’ I was only nine, but Mom said, ‘Come on, let’s play.’ This Carney guy with no teeth and a fuming cigarette hands me five blue rubber balls and says if I throw three in the hole we win a prize. He’s grinning, because he took Mom’s five bucks and figures a sucker is born every minute. That really got me, because we didn’t have any money after Fernando took off, and he only comes back to beat up mom and steal our money. So I really wanted to get Mom back something, you know, for her five bucks.”

A boy with a golden arm but no money for lessons. A mother who wants to give her son his dream before she dies. A broken-down World Series pitcher who cannot go on after the death of his wife. These are the elements of The Pitcher, the story of a man at the end of his dream and a boy whose dream is to make his high school baseball team. In the tradition of The Natural and Field of Dreams, this is a mythic story about how a man and a boy meet in the crossroads of their lives and find a way to go on. You will laugh and you will cry as The Pitcher and Ricky prepare for the ultimate tryout of life.

Author William Hazelgrove

William Hazelgrove is the bestselling author of five novels: Ripples, Tobacco Sticks, Mica Highways, Rocket Man, and The Pitcher. His books have received starred reviews in Publisher’s Weekly, Book of the Month Selections, Junior Library Guild Selections, ALA Editors Choice Awards and optioned for the movies. He was the Ernest Hemingway Writer in Residence where he wrote in the attic of Ernest Hemingway’s birthplace. He has written articles and reviews for USA Today and other publications. His novel, Rocket Man, was chosen Book of the Year by He runs a political cultural blog, The View from Hemingway’s Attic. He lives in Chicago.

pitcher tour

Book Blast Giveaway
Prize: $50 Amazon Gift Card or PayPal Cash
Ends 9/30/13

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Gift Code or PayPal Cash. Winning entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by Rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader, Not A Writer and sponsored by the author. Susan Heim on Parenting is not responsible for prize fulfillment. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.

1 comment:

  1. I added The Pitcher to my "to-read" shelf (this link). It's #70 on my list right now


Thank you for your comment. All comments are moderated and will go live after approval.